Top Travel Questions – Answered

Which state began as a penal colony?

Well, few people know that the State of Georgia, for example, was first founded by James Edward Oglethorpe by using penal prisoners taken largely from debtors’ prison, creating a “Debtor’s Colony”. That was quite a good a solution to overcrowding of British debtors.

What began as a penal colony?

Australia, once known as New South Wales, was originally planned as a penal colony. In October 1786, the British government appointed Arthur Phillip captain of the HMS Sirius, and commissioned him to establish an agricultural work camp there for British convicts.

Which colonies was set up as a penal colony?

The colony of Georgia, for example, was first founded by James Edward Oglethorpe who originally intended to use prisoners taken largely from debtors’ prisons, creating a “Debtor’s Colony,” where the prisoners could learn trades and work off their debts.

What country began as a penal colony?


Britain quickly established parts of the continent as penal colonies and founded Norfolk Island, Van Diemen’s Land, and New South Wales as such.

Which Australian states began as penal colonies?

Convict Colonies. There were two major convict colonies: New South Wales (1788-1840) and Van Diemen’s Land (later Tasmania, 1803-1853). Eventually, Swan River (Western Australia) would become a third penal colony when the failing settlement requested an injection of convict labourers (1850-1868).

Was Louisiana a penal colony?

Indeed, the area became a penal colony in 1719-1720. France was in such desperate need of settlers, it picked up every person it could and swept out its prisons. The move caused such panic that French prisoners revolted, overpowering the guards and fleeing the prison, “in terror of being sent to Louisiana.”

Where was the first penal colony in Australia?


Although Australia’s first penal colony was often called Botany Bay, its actual site was at Sydney on Port Jackson. Although currently under dispute, many believe that Captain James Cook originally discovered the east coast of the continent in 1770 and named it New South Wales.

Was New Zealand a penal colony?

The New Zealand Penal Settlement was a Federation penal colony located on Earth in the New Zealand island group, east of the continent of Australia. Much like all rehabilitation colonies, this location was used to treat inmates and was a possible location for Maquis prisoners to be placed.

What was Australia called in 1788?

New South Wales

After the Dutch era
Cook first named the land New Wales, but revised it to New South Wales. With the establishment of a settlement at Sydney in 1788, the British solidified its claim to the eastern part of Australia, now officially called New South Wales.

When was Western Australia a penal colony?

In May 1849 the British authorised the conversion of Western Australia to a penal colony and the colony received over 9000 convicts during the next 19 years. The last transportation of convicts arrived in the colony in 1868 and Western Australia once again became a free settlement.

Was Fremantle a penal colony?

In 1886, with less than fifty convicts still imprisoned the British government passed control of the Prison to the colonial government and Fremantle Prison then became the Swan River colony’s primary place of incarceration.

Was Perth a penal colony?

The convict era of Western Australia was the period during which Western Australia was a penal colony of the British Empire. Although it received small numbers of juvenile offenders from 1842, it was not formally constituted as a penal colony until 1849.

When was the South Australian colony established?


In 1834, the South Australian Colonisation Act was passed in the United Kingdom, leading to the British colonisation of land that is now the state of South Australia. The colony was designed for migrants, not convicts and was to be funded by the sale of land to the wealthy and to investors.

When was the Colony of Victoria established?

The new Colony of Victoria, named in honour of Queen Victoria, came into being on 1 July 1851, heralding a five day public holiday and joyous celebrations throughout the streets of Melbourne. The tyranny of Sydney was over! The new Colony of Victoria had much to celebrate.

Who first Colonised South Australia?

The first people to occupy the area now known as South Australia were Aboriginal Australians. Their presence in northern Australia began at least 65,000 years ago with the arrival of the first of their ancestors by land-bridge from what is now Indonesia.

Who first discovered Adelaide?

In 1836, William Light, the surveyor general selected the area for the capital of the new colony. In 1838, the first governor, Captain John Hindmarsh landed in the area to start the new colony was who landed on 28 December 1838. They used the name Adelaide to honour the wife of King George IV.

Who named South Australia?

In 1853, the original name was banished and the region named after Mr Tasman. Dutch navigator explorer Abel Tasman named a number of Australian states, but not the one that now bears his own name.

Who discovered Queensland?

Settlement. Queensland was first seen by Europeans in the 1600s. Dutch explorer Willem Jansz landed on the Cape York Peninsula in 1606, and in 1623 Jan Carstens explored the Gulf of Carpentaria.

When was Perth first settled?


Perth was founded by Captain James Stirling on Whadjuk country as the capital of the Swan River Colony in 1829. It was the first free-settler colony in Australia established by private capital. From 1850, convicts began to arrive at the colony in large numbers to build roads and other public infrastructure.

Who designed Perth?

Perth was founded by Captain James Stirling in 1829 as the administrative centre of the Swan River Colony.

Who settled WA?

The first European to sight Western Australia was the Dutch explorer, Dirk Hartog, the first European to suggest to have found a continent there, who on 26 October 1616 landed at what is now known as Cape Inscription, Dirk Hartog Island.

What was Perth originally called?

Following this encounter, they sailed north, but not before de Vlamingh had bestowed the name Swan on the river because of the black swans he saw swimming there. Just over 100 years later, in 1829, Captain James Stirling founded Perth as part of the Swan River Colony.

Who is Hobart named after?

Robert Hobart, 4th earl of Buckinghamshire

It was named Hobart Town after Robert Hobart, 4th earl of Buckinghamshire, then secretary of state for the colonies. In 1804 the settlement was moved to the city’s present site, Sullivans Cove.

When was Darwin founded?

Darwin was originally founded as Palmerston in 1869, although the port was always known as Port Darwin. The town’s growth was accelerated when gold was discovered at Pine Creek in 1871. In 1911, the budding young settlement was renamed Darwin.

Who established Darwin?

European settlers first reached Darwin in 1839, but the city wasn’t always named Darwin. When European sailors reached Darwin in 1839 aboard the HMS Beagle, captain Lt. John Lort Stokes named the harbour after his previous shipmate; the naturalist, geologist and biologist, Charles Darwin.

Who first discovered Port Darwin?

Lieutenant John Lort Stokes

Lieutenant John Lort Stokes of HMS Beagle was the first British person to spot Darwin harbour on 9 September 1839, 51 years after the first European settlement of Australia.